President Trump To Award Jon Voight With Prestigious National Medal of Arts


Jon Voight has been a fierce and frequent defender of President Trump’s, much to the chagrin of the Hollywood establishment.

Voight’s career speaks for itself and it is a sad commentary on today’s state of politics that only someone as successful as Voight would dare buck the Hollywood system and speak the truth about Trump.

In announcing the prestigious award the White House said of Voight: “for his exceptional capacity as an actor to portray deeply complex characters. Captivating audiences, he has given us insights into the richness of the human mind and heart.”

From Fox News:

Oscar-winning actor Jon Voight will become the first recipient of the prestigious National Medal of Arts since President Trump took office.

The White House announced four recipients of the National Medal of Arts and four of the National Humanities Medal in a statement Sunday night. Trump will award the medals during a ceremony at the White House on Thursday.

In addition to his work in films and TV, Voight is one of Trump’s few vocal supporters in Hollywood, often deriding the president’s Democratic opposition and previously hailing him as “The greatest president of this century.”

The honors have been an annual affair during past administrations, but they had not been awarded since Trump’s inauguration in January 2017. The most recent arts or humanities medals were bestowed by President Obama in September 2016.

Voight will receive the accolade “for his exceptional capacity as an actor to portray deeply complex characters.” The actor starred in “Midnight Cowboy,” the 1969 film that won an Academy Award for best picture, and he won the best actor Oscar for 1978’s “Coming Home.” He appears in the Showtime series “Ray Donovan.”

The other recipients of the National Medal of Arts will be Alison Krauss, Sharon Percy Rockefeller and The Musicians of the United States Military. Meanwhile, those receiving the National Humanities Medal this year will be The Claremont Institute, Teresa Lozano Long, Patrick O’Connell and James Patterson.